Douglas Lind, Adrian Lasimbang Among 12 Sworn In As Senators


KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Theodore Douglas Lind, the first senator appointed from Parti Warisan Sabah said he will pursue the party’s objective of claiming Sabah’s rights under MA63 (Malaysia Agreement 1963) as well as the 20 percent oil royalty.

Douglas, a lawyer by profession, said he would do his level best to discharge his duty to the country, and would also speak up on the poor infrastructure in Sabah and the need to fast-track various development projects especially in the rural areas.

“After more than 50 years of forming Malaysia and contributing millions in petro-ringgit, Sabah is left trailing behind the states in the peninsular,” he told borneotoday in a telephone interview.


“The federal government has a lot to do in Sabah, and it is not just talk or promises that we want to hear. We’ve had enough of that under the previous government and what we desire now is a fair share of what we deserve.”

Douglas said it was indeed a great honour for him to be appointed as a Senator and he thanked Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Mohd Shafie Apdal and all Supreme Council Members of Warisan for his appointment.

He also thanked Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V and Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad,

While extending his heartiest congratulations to Douglas Lind’s appointment, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Liew Vui Keong in a statement today said:

“It is no doubt that with his expertise as a lawyer, Douglas will able to contribute vastly to the country.”

Douglas was among the 12 new senators sworn in at the Dewan Negara Monday.


Also sworn in from Sabah was Adrian Banie Lasimbang, DAP Sabah education director and its head of native affairs.

Adrian said he felt honoured to be sworn in as Senator and was not told he would start ‘work’ immediately, saying he took part in the debate on the Anti-Fake News (Repeal) bill.

“I’m still a newbie in the Senate and there’s a lot to work on my speech but I won’t disappoint my supporters,” said the Penampang-born Senator.


He said he hoped to champion the rights of the ‘Orang Asal’ as well as more development for Sabah.

The other sworn in were four from PKR, four from DAP, two from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) and one from Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah).

The four from PKR are Ismail Yusop (PKR National Congress permanent chairman); Mohd Yusmadi Mohd Yusoff (PKR former Balik Pulau MP); Monalan Mohamad (PKR Bera Division chief) and First Admiral (Rtd) Mohamad Imran Abd Hamid (PKR former Lumut MP).

Three others from DAP are lawyer Nga Hock Cheh (DAP Perak committee member); Lim Hui Ying (DAP Penang secretary) and Alan Ling Sie Kiong (DAP Sarawak secretary).

The two from Bersatu are Datuk Razali Idris (Bersatu Terengganu chairman) and Md Nasir Hashim (Bersatu Gelang Patah Division chief).

The Amanah representative is Raj Munni Sabu (a central committee member).

All of them took their oath of office before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri SA Vigneswaran in the Dewan Negara.

Amanah vice-president Husam Musa, who is also PH Kelantan chairman, was scheduled to be sworn in as a senator today but his swearing-in was deferred to a date to be decided later.