Tun Juhar To Serve Third Term As TYT; Gets Appointment Letter From King

Tun Juhar (left) receiving his appointment letter from Sultan Nazrin at Istana Negara on Thursday.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah on Thursday (Dec 27) presented the appointment letter to Tun Juhar Mahiruddin as the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri of Sabah for the third term, which takes effect on Jan 1, 2019.

The ceremony was held at Singgahsana Kecil, Istana Negara, and was witnessed by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

Also present were Home Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof and Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

Tun Juhar, 65, was appointed the 10th Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah on Jan 1, 2011, replacing Tun Ahmadshah Abdullah, and was appointed to the post for the second term on Jan 1, 2015.

The Sabah State Assembly recently passed a Bill on an amendment to the Sabah State Constitution on the abolishment of the two-term limit for the post of the Sabah Yang Di-pertua Negeri (TYT).

Tun Juhar, a law graduate from Wolverhampton Polytechnic, England, was Sabah State Assembly Speaker between 2002 and 2010 and Deputy Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat from 1990 to 1999.