Tanjong Datu By-Polls: All 16 Polling Centres Closed, Counting Begins

Polling for the Tanjong Batu by-election has ended. – Photo credit BERNAMA

LUNDU: Three more polling centres for the Tanjong Datu state by-election closed at 5 pm Saturday, concluding the voting process at all the 16 polling centres.

The last three polling centres to be closed are at Sekolah Kebangsaan Kampung Stunggang Lundu, Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Chung Hua, and Sekolah Kebangsaan Bumiputera Lundu.

Previously four polling centres closed at 12 noon, another four at 1pm and five at 4pm.

The voting process went smoothly even though it rained early this morning, gloomy weather at noon and improved weather in the afternoon.

Now the spotlight is focused on the Lundu Community Hall, which also served as the venue of the nomination centre, early voting counting centre and vote tallying centre.

The by-election is held following the death of Sarawak’s fifth Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem due to heart complications on Jan 11 at the Sarawak Heart Centre in Kota Samarahan.

In the 11th state election in May last year, Adenan, 72, obtained 6,360 votes against PKR candidate Jazolkipli Numan’s 468 votes, thereby securing a majority of 5,892 votes.

The by-election is a three-cornered contest involving Barisan Nasional, represented by Adenan’s widow, Datuk Amar Jamilah Anu; State Reform Party, Sarawak (Star)’s Johnny Aput; and Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak (PBDS) Baru candidate Rapelson Richard Hamit.

The Election Commission expected the results of the Tanjong Datu by-election would be known at the earliest by 8 pm.