Sarawak-based journalists invited to vie for Kenyalang Award

KUCHING: Entries are now open for the 32nd edition of the Kenyalang Journalism Award, said the Federation of Sarawak Journalists Association president Jacqueline David today.

She said, this year, the period to submit entries has been extended to Aug 15.

“This is to allow media members in Sarawak to submit articles published up to Aug 15, which gives them more opportunities to submit articles published during this COVID-19 pandemic,” she said in a statement here.

She said the entry forms, for RM5 each, can be bought from the local media associations.

“The categories for article submission this year include the Chief Minister Award, Journalism Award (Feature and News Feature), News Reporting Award, Sports Reporting Award, Sustainability Journalism Award, Business and Economic Journalism Award, Community Well-being and Rural Development Journalism Award, and the Digital Economy Journalism Award.

“The article categories are divided into Bahasa Melayu, English, Chinese and Iban. As for members in the broadcast media and photography, they can vie for the Broadcast Journalism Award, Photo Journalism Award, and Photography Essay Award,” she said.

All the submissions are to be sent to the Malaysian Press Institute before Aug 31.

Members of the Kuching Division Journalists Association can contact Ronnie Teo at 016-8823110 or Chong Kho Lee at 012-8224883, Northern Sarawak Journalists Association (Andy Jong 014-5902562), Sibu Journalists Association (Hii Hong Wee at 013-8115531) and Institute of Rajang Journalists (Yek Choo Eng at 012-8896361).