RM66 Million Infrastructure Project Allocation For Sarawak’s Local Authorities

Dr Sim Kui Hian
Dr Sim Kui Hian

KUCHING – The State government approved a total allocation of RM66 million in 2016 for 23 local authorities to implement 421 infrastructure and public amenity projects, said Sarawak Local Government Minister Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian.

He said of the 421 projects, 282 or 67 percent had been completed while 139 others were at various stages of implementation; twenty-five projects are scheduled to be completed in 2017.

Dr Sim said the ministry also received RM61.35 million in 2016 from the Federal Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government Ministry for local authorities to implement 394 minor infrastructure development projects.


He said 26 local authorities including Kuching North City Hall, Kuching South City Council and Bintulu Development Authority had as of Oct 31 received grants totalling RM230.43 million under the Malaysian Road Records Information System for maintenance of roads, drains and road furniture involving more than 18,062 kilometres.

“We will do our level best to expedite delivery of projects and programmes for the benefit of the people of Sarawak,” he said in his winding-up speech at the Sarawak State Legislative Assembly sitting here today.

On flood mitigation and state urban drainage system, Dr Sim who is Batu Kawah assemblyman said the National Register of River Basins study carried out in 2000 estimated the total flood prone areas in Sarawak to be 10,895 square kilometres or about 15 times the size of Singapore.

“The State government has proposed an allocation of RM100 million in 2017 to implement critical drains improvement works. These flood mitigation projects will be implemented by Drainage and Irrigation Department and the local authorities,” he said.

Dr Sim also informed the sitting that the State government allocated RM7.96 million in 2016 to implement 10 Urban Drainage Improvement projects, of which six were continuation projects from the last Malaysia Plan which had since been completed.

In addition the federal government also approved RM11 million under the 11MP for implementation of the Stormwater Management Drainage Master Plan study for the main towns in Sarawak, namely Sri Aman, Betong, Debak, Spaoh, Serian, Sarikei, Saratok, Limbang and Lawas.