Parti Pesaka In No Hurry To Choose Adenan’s Successor – Stephen Rundi

Sarawak Deputy Chief Ministers Datuk Amar Abang Johari Openg (right) and Datuk Amar Douglas
Sarawak Deputy Chief Ministers Datuk Amar Abang Johari Openg (right) and Datuk Amar Douglas are also deputy presidents of PBB.
Stephen Rundi
Stephen Rundi

KUCHING – Sarawak Barisan Nasional anchor party Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) is in no hurry to choose its new president following the death of Tan Sri Adenan Satem at age 72 Wednesday, said PBB secretary-general Datuk Dr Stephen Rundi.

He said on Thursday that the party will meet in due course to decide on the matter.

“Our president has just left us. Somebody must take over. But let us observe the seven-day mourning period for him first,” he said when approached by reporters after paying his last respects to Adenan at the state mosque here Thursday.

Rundi assured that PBB would call for a meeting when it was appropriate to do so.

He did not dismiss the possibility that it would be done after the mourning period, which began yesterday and will be over by next week.

“The leader grooming process is well in place for PBB. We also have the caucus in the party to help us to decide,” Dr Rundi added.

Traditionally, the next PBB president is also set to become the new chief minister.

PBB currently has two deputy presidents who are also deputy chief ministers.

They are Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg and Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas.

While Uggah is in charge of the Ministry of Modernisation of Agriculture and Rural Economy, Abang Johari looks after the Ministry of Housing and Urbanisation as well as the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture.

In the May 2016 state election, PBB won 40 of the 72 seats contested to make it the strongest BN party in Sarawak.