No need for police permission to travel out of Sarawak – SDMC

Photo for illustration only.

KUCHING: People leaving Sarawak to go to Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Labuan do not require police permission, said the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) today.

According to the statement, the movement control only involves movement between Zone One (COVID-19 yellow/ red zone) and Zone Two ( COVID-19 green zone) only.

“Movement control in the state of Sarawak is divided into two zones, namely Zone One covering Kuching, Samarahan and Serian divisions. While Zone Two covers Sri Aman, Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Kapit, Mukah, Bintulu, Miri and Limbang divisions,” said the statement.

SDMC states that any movement from Zone One to Zone Two and vice versa, must obtain written permission in advance from the nearest police station.

Sarawak did not record any COVID-19 positive cases today, bringing the total number of COVID-19 cases in Sarawak to 678.