Local-Born Amir Hussien, Takes Over As Labuan Corporation Chairman

Khalid Samad, centre, hands over the letter of appointment to Amir Hussein.

LABUAN: Datuk Seri Amir Hussien, a Labuan-born corporate leader, has been appointed as Labuan Corporation (LC) chairman effective Wednesday.

He took over the post from Datuk Rozman Isli, the Labuan Member of Parliament who vacated the post since June this year, following the Federal Territories Ministry’s directive, soon after the 14th general election.

Khalid Abdul Samad, the Federal Territories Minister announced and presented the letter of appointment to Amir at Wisma Perbadanan Labuan Wednesday.

Khalid also announced the appointment of five local personalities to sit at the Labuan Corporation advisory council.

Khalid (seated, third left) with the newly-appointed chairman Amir Hussien (seated left) Labuan Corporation chief executive officer Datuk Azhar Ahmad (seated second right) and new members of the local authority advisory’s council.

They include Rozman as the council chairman, Noor Halim Zaini (former Parti Warisan Sabah Labuan GE14 candidate), Jeremy Wong Kwan Kit (DAP Labuan pro tem secretary), Simsuddin Sidek (PKR Labuan chief) and Dr Ramli Tahir from Parti Amanah Negara Labuan.

Rozman was an Umno-BN MP when he held the post of chairman and was appointed as the chairman of the council after taking into consideration his contribution and following his diversion to Parti Warisan Sabah on Oct 11.

The appointment of the advisory council was under Section 6 (1) of the Act 609, Labuan Corporation Act 2001 and will run for two years.

Khalid said his ministry’s Secretary-General, Datuk Seri Adnan Md Ikhsan will be LC deputy chairman.

He also said the three LC board of directors Datuk Allauddin Anuar from Economic Planning Unit (EPU), Danial Mah Abdullah (Director-General Labuan Financial Services Authority [Labuan FSA] and Suhaili Ahmad from Ministry of Finance remain at the respective posts and a new member Associate Professor Dr Geoffrey Harvey Tanakinjal from University Malaysia Sabah (UMS) was appointed.