Kinabalu Shell Press Awards 2017 Receives Support From State Government

Munguntan receives the mock cheque from the Chief Minister, watched by the other members of the organising committee and Joniston Bangkuai, the former SJA president.

KOTA KINABALU: The State Government continued its support of the Kinabalu Shell Press Awards with a RM60,000 sponsorship for the annual event aimed at driving journalistic excellence in the media fraternity in Sabah and Labuan.

Musa Hj Aman, the Sabah Chief Minister presented a mock cheque for the amount to Sabah Journalists Association (SJA) president, Muguntan Vanar, who is also the 2017 KSPA organising chairman, during a courtesy call by the organising committee on Monday.

The State Government appreciated the contributions of the media in Sabah and Labuan, Musa told the organising committee members, and hoped the continuous financial support to hold the prestigious awards would encourage the media to further enhance the standard of journalism.

Musa Aman seems awed by the memento presented to him by the newsmen.

The Kinabalu Shell Press Awards is a tripartite collaboration between SJA, Shell and the Sabah State Government.

Earlier, Muguntan briefed the Chief Minister that a total of 293 entries were received this year.

The KSPA is open to full time journalists, photographers and producers from the print and electronic media, and also to part-time journalists since 2013, in Sabah and Labuan.

The committee also formally invited the Chief Minister to be the Guest-of-Honour for this year’s Kinabalu Shell Press Awards that would be held on Nov 17 here.