Juhar Mahiruddin, Shafie Apdal Attend Swearing In Of New Agong

Tun Juhar Mahiruddin, second left, shares a word with the Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad while Datuk Shafie Apdal, right, looks on, while waiting for the swearing in ceremony of the new King to begin at Istana Negara on Thursday. – Photo courtesy of Chief Minister’s Department Sabah.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Pahang, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, was sworn in Thursday (January 31, 2019) as the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a ceremony steeped in tradition at Istana Negara here.

At the same ceremony, the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, took the oath of office as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Their Majesties were elected to the office, respectively, by the Malay Rulers at the 251st (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara on Jan 24 to reign for a five-year term from today.

The Mufti of Sabah, Datuk Bungsu @ Aziz Jaafar, recited the ‘doa’ (prayers), seeking the blessings of the Almighty for the well-being of Their Majesties, the people and nation.

The new Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah ibni Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al-Musta’in Billah at the Throne Room of Istana Negara. – Photo courtesy of Bernama

Sultan Abdullah, accompanied by the other Malay Rulers, the Tengku Makhota of Kelantan, the Regent of Pahang and the Yang Dipertuas Negeri, proceeded to the Balairung Seri for the swearing-in and signing of the instrument of office and declaration of assuming of office.

Among the dignitaries present was the Prime Minister and the Cabinet as well as Menteri Besar and Chief Ministers of all States.

They included Sabah Tuan Yang Terutama Tun Datuk Seri Panglima Juhar Mahiruddin and Sabah Chief Minister, Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Mohd Shafie Apdal.

Malaysia is one of 43 nations which practise the system of a constitutional monarchy, but the rotational system of electing a king from among nine Malay rulers is the only one of its kind in the world.

Datuk Shafie Apdal, right, together with his Sarawak counterpart, Abdul Rahman Zohari bin Tun Abang Haji Openg aka Abang Jo at Istana Negara.

Sultan Abdullah, 59, and Sultan Nazrin, 62, took their oath and signed the instruments of office before the other Malay Rulers, from Negeri Sembilan, Selangor, Perlis, Terengganu, Kedah, Johor, the Tengku Makhota of Kelantan, the Regent of Pahang and the Yang Dipertuas Negeri of Melaka, Penang, Sabah and Sarawak as well as dignitaries from the executive, legislative and judiciary.

The ceremony at the Balairung Seri (Throne Room) was held during the 252nd (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers chaired by the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah.

The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, and the Raja of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail, also signed the instruments of office, as the witnesses.

Sultan Abdullah also signed the proclamation of assuming the office of the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Sultan Nazrin, the office of the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Sultan Abdullah arrives at Parliament Square for the official welcoming ceremony Thursday. – Bernama photo

Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad read out the instrument of proclamation, officially signifying Sultan Abdullah’s ascension to the throne as the new head of state of Malaysia in accordance with the laws and the Federal Constitution.

Sultan Abdullah succeeds Sultan Muhammad V, the Sultan of Kelantan, who stepped down as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Jan 6 after having reigned for just over two years of the five-year term from Dec 13, 2016.

After the ceremony, Sultan Abdullah and Sultan Nazrin posed for photographs with the other Malay Rulers; Yang Dipertuas Negeri; Prime Minister; Deputy Prime Minister; Menteris Besar and Chief Ministers.

The new Yang di-Pertuan Agong also granted an audience for the introduction of several dignitaries, among whom were Chief Justice Tan Sri Richard Malanjum; Syariah Chief Judge Datuk Mukhyuddin Ibrahim; Attorney-General Tommy Thomas; Chief of Defence Forces Tan Sri Zulkifli Zainal Abidin; Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Mohamad Fuzi Harun; Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof; Dewan Negara President Tan Sri S. Vigneswaran and Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Dr Ismail Bakar.