‘Giant Killer’ Of Sepanggar Sworn In As Deputy Home Affairs Minister

Mohd Azis Jamman clocking in for the first time at the Ministry of Home Affairs in Putrajaya.

PUTRAJAYA: Mohd Azis Jamman, who has been appointed as deputy minister of Home Affairs, is regarded a giant killer for defeating Umno heavyweight Abdul Rahman Dahlan in the contest for the Sepanggar parliamentary seat in the last general election.

Mohd Azis, 44, won with a majority of 12,984 votes to win the seat from the former minister in the Prime Minister’s Department.

A Bajau, Mohd Aziz was born on Nov 3, 1974, in Semporna. He is married to Norlizah Awang Ahmad.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in ‘Computer Science Minor in Mathematics’ from the Hawaii Pacific University (HPU) and upon completing his studies in 2000, became a lecturer at Kolej Ibukota Kinabalu (KIK) for about five months, before taking up a job at Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) as an information system officer at its School of Engineering and Information Technology until December 2008.

From July 2013 until 2016, he was chairperson and a member of the board of directors of Kolej Poly-Tech Mara.

His involvement in politics started when he was appointed Semporna Umno Youth chief and had served as Sabah Umno Youth executive council (exco) member and also information chief for the Umno Youth agriculture secretariat between January 2009 and 2016.

When Umno vice-president Mohd Shafie Apdal left the party in 2016, Mohd Aziz joined him and together they established Parti Warisan Sabah, with Mohd Shafie as president and Mohd Aziz its Youth chief.

Soon after being sworn Mohd Azis Jamman began his duties, arriving at the Home Ministry in Complex D here where he was greeted by the ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Alwi Ibrahim and other ministry officials.

After clocking in at 2.50 pm, Mohd Azis met Home Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at his office here.

Mohd Azis, who is Parti Warisan Sabah Youth chief, won the Sepanggar parliamentary seat in Sabah in a four-cornered tussle in the 14th General Election, defeating former minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan, Jeremy Kumin (SAPP) and Robert Sopining (PCS).