GE14: Yong Teck Lee Has ‘Feel Good’ Vibes After Filing Papers For KK

Yong Teck Lee is embroiled in a three-cornered fight for Kota Kinabalu, the DAP stronghold. Facing him is Chan Foong Hin, who has swapped seats with Jimmy Wong (Sri Tanjung) and James Lee of the BN.

KOTA KINABALU: Yong Teck Lee, the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president is feeling good over his inaugural bid for the Kota Kinabalu Parliamentary seat.

“I feel I have good chance of winning because there’s increased awareness among Sabahans and Sarawakians on the states’ rights,” he said after filing his nomination papers at the Dewan Maksak in Likas here Saturday.

“Sabah people want change. And they see that whether it’s the Najib-led UMNO or Mahathir-led Pakatan is the same Ketuanan Malaya,” Yong added.

“And there is no change in either,” said the former Chief Minister who is in a three-cornered fight for the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat.

Yong Teck Lee, right, with Richard Yong, left, who is contesting Likas under the SAPP ticket, together with Lim Kat Chung and Gee Tien Siong who are in Api Api and Luyang.

The other contenders for the seat are Barisan Nasional’s Dr Joseph Lee, who unsuccessfully contested as a DAP candidate for Putatan in the 2013 polls and Chan Foong Hin, the former Sri Tanjung DAP State assemblyman.

To a question, Yong said he anticipated a change of government due to a number of factors.

“Umno is facing internal conflict over the selection of candidates,” he said.

He said Parti Warisan was also drawing away “outsider votes” who have traditionally voted for Umno.

“As we all know, Kadazadusun Murut voters will be backing Gabungan Sabah,” he said.

And as far the Chinese voters go, it’s well known they are openly opposition minded,” Yong added.


The Kota Kinabalu Parliament seat has some 56,000 voters, 65% of whom a Chinese with the rest comprising Muslim and non-Muslim bumiputera.

Lee Han Kyun @ Joseph Lee (BN)
Yong Teck Lee (SAPP)
Chan Foong Hin (DAP)

DUN – N.14 – LIKAS
Tan Lee Fatt (DAP)
Chin Shu Ying (BN)
Yong We Kong (SAPP)

DUN – N.15 – API-API
Chan Chee Ching (Bebas)
Yee Moh Chai (BN)
Len Lip Fong @ Land Lip Fong (PAN)
Liew Chin Jin (PKR)
Lim Kat Chung (SAPP)

Gee Tien Siong (SAPP)
Phoong Jin Zhe (DAP)
Pamela Yong (BN)