GE14: Warisan’s Munirah Vows To Give Salleh Stiff Fight In Kota Belud

Munirah Majilis (in red) of Parti Warisan Sabah will take on BN strongman Salleh Said in Kota Belud along with two other opposition challengers.

KOTA BELUD: Salleh Said Keruak, the caretaker Communications and Multimedia minister cum Umno treasurer, faces a four-cornered contest for the Kota Belud parliamentary seat in the 14th general election on May 9.

He faces a challenge from Isnarasiah Munirah Majilis, the Wirawati chief, who is also related to him, Ag Laiman Ikin of PAS and Aimaduddin Mion of Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah.

Returning Officer Abdul Gari Itam announced the names of the candidates at the Tun Said community hall here.

Speaking to reporters later, Salleh said the smooth nomination process reflected maturity in the country’s democratic system.

Salleh Said with the other hopefuls vying for the Kota Belud parliament seat as well as the three State seats.

He also said that the BN would conduct a clean campaign in the run-up to polling on May 9 and explain to the voters the importance of continuing to support the BN to maintain stability, harmony and peace as well as development in the state and country.

Munirah, who is contesting the seat for the second successive time – she polled 16,673 votes to lose by 5,095 votes to Abdul Rahman Dahlan in 2013 – expressed the hope that she would do better this time around.

“It will be a tough fight though as Salleh is a well-known personality in these areas, but I am not letting a big name and family ties to trouble my campaign. I will go all out to wrest the seat for Parti Warisan,” said Munirah.


Salleh had arrived at the nomination centre at about 8.30 am, accompanied by the three BN candidates for the state seats of Usukan, Tempasuk and Kadamaian. He was the first to file his nomination papers as soon as the centre opened at 9 am.

Salleh held the Usukan seat before the dissolution of the Sabah legislative assembly.

The Kota Belud seat was last held by caretaker Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department and BN Strategic Communications director Abdul Rahman who is now contesting the Sepanggar parliamentary seat.

BN’s Japlin Akim is in a four-cornered contest for the Usukan seat, facing Abdul Bakrin Mohd Yusof of Warisan, Adzmin Awang of PAS and independent Amsor Tuah.


In Tempasuk, Musbah Jamil the Sabah Agriculture and Food Industry Minister of BN is facing Mustapha Sakmud of PKR, Mustaqim Aling of PAS and Suwah Buleh of Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR).

Kadamaian sees a five-cornered fight among Kota Belud UPKO chief Ewon Benedick of BN, Rubbin Guribah of STAF, Lukia Indan of PKR, Satail Majungkat of PAS and Mail Balinu of Parti Cinta Sabah (PCS).


Laiman Bin Ikin @ Ag Laiman B.Kakimin (PAS)
Mohd Salleh Mohd Said (BN)
[email protected] Bin Mion (HARAPAN)
Isnaraissah Munirah Bt Majilis @ Fakharudy (WARISAN)



Suwah Bin Buleh @ Bulleh (STAR)
Mustaqim Bin Aling (PAS)
Musbah Bin Jamli (BN)
Mustapha @ Mohd Yunus Bin Sakmud (PKR)


Mail Bin Balinu (PCS)
Rubbin Bin Guribah (STAR)
Lukia Binti Indan (PKR)
Satail Bin Manjungkat (PAS)
Ewon Benedick (BN)


Japlin Bin Akim @ Abd Hamid (BN)
Abd Bahtrin @ Abdul Bahkrin Bin Md Yusof (WARISAN)
Amsor Bin Tuah (BEBAS)
Adzmin Bin Awang (PAS)