GE14: Warisan Deny It Won 4 Seats Uncontested; No Walkovers – Umno

Fake news was spread over social media that Shafie Apdal, left, had won the State seat of Senallang after his cousin, Nasir Sakaran, who is the BN incumbent, withdrew from the race.

KOTA KINABALU: Parti Warisan Sabah has denied a claim that it has won four seats in the 14th general elections

Shafie Apdal, its President said he was facing Nasir Sakaran in the State seat of Senallang despite claims that his cousin had withdrawn from the contest.


“All our candidates will face contests from our opponents, whether from the BN or from other opposition parties,” he said in a statement from Semporna.

In Semporna, Shafies is defending the seat for the sixth term and he faces a challenge from BN’s Ramlee Marahaban who was previously the Bugaya State Assemblyman.


Shafie also denied the claim that has since gone viral over social media that Warisan had won in Likas, Keningau and Bugaya.

Whoever sent out the fake news that has since spread throughout the country was rather stupid as Warisan did not contest Likas.

In Bugaya, it is a six-cornered fight between Razak Sakaran of the BN while his challengers include Manis Buka Mohd Dara (Warisan), Mahamod Sarahil (PAS), Kuli Maralang (PKS), Abdul Muksin Mohd Hassan (Bebas) and Mohd Said Tiblan (PPRS).

For the parliament seat of Keningau left vacant by J Pairin Kitingan of PBS, six candidates are in the fray.

Meanwhile, Sabah Umno has denied that any of their candidates have pulled out of the race in the state.


“Viral messages that four of our candidates have pulled out is fake news,” Kadzim Yahya, the Sabah Umno executive secretary said Saturday night.

He said that Nasir Sakaran, the Senallang incumbent, was all set to take on Shafie.

Kadzim added that it was important to have the anti-fake news law to stop irresponsible people from spreading false stories.

Earlier in the day as the so-called ‘victories’ were being spread, Loretto Padua, the Warisan secretary-general in a brief note to party members, said:


“I am glad to announce that all 62 Parti Warisan Sabah candidates – 45 State and 17 Parliament – have been received and accepted by the respective Returning Officers in the respective constituencies where our party is contesting.

“All Parti Warisan candidates are being challenged by candidates from other parties.

“We are prepared for the campaign which has already started,” he added.


Jius Bin Awang (PCS)
Maimin Bin Rijan (BEBAS)
Daniel Bin Kinsik (BN)
Gapari Bin Katingan @ Geoffrey Kitingan (STAR)
Justin Bin Guka (BEBAS)
Jikulin Nointin @ Anastasius (WARISAN)