GE14: Shafie Apdal In 4-Way Fight For Semporna; Faces Cousin In Senallang

Thousands of Parti Warisan Sabah supporters accompanied Shafie Apdal to the Nomination Centre in Semporna Saturday morning.

SEMPORNA: Shafie Apdal, Sabah’s leading opposition chieftain faces three other challengers in his fight to retain Semporna parliament for the sixth straight term.

And contesting the State seat of Senallang for the first time in his 30-year political career, Shafie takes on Nasir Sakaran, his cousin, in a three-cornered fight. The other candidate is Mohd Zakaria of Harapan Rakyat.

The Parti Warisan Sabah’s main contender in Semporna is Barisan Nasional’s Ramlee Marahaban while also in the fray is Asmara Asmad (Harapan Rakyat) and Abdul Nasir Abdul Raub (PAS).

Thousands of Parti Warisan supporters waving flags and banners and clad in party T-shirts accompanied the incumbent to the Nomination Centre, far outnumbering those who accompanied the BN candidate.

Musa Aman, the Sabah Chief Minister, who is seeking a fourth term is tied up in a three-cornered fight for the Sungai Sibuga state seat he has held since 1994.

He is being challenged by Warisan Sabah’s Asmara Abdul Rahman, a retired policeman and Osman Enting of the newly-formed Parti Kebangsan Sabah, for the state seat in the Libaran parliamentary constituency in Sabah’s east coast Sandakan.

In Sandakan, Stephen Wong, Sabah DAP incumbent is in a straight fight with Lim Ming Hoo from Liberal Democratic Party.

Christina Liew and Jimmy Wong in Tawau along with supporters from PKR, DAP and Parti Warisan Sabah.

Christina Liew, the Sabah Pakatan Harapan chairman, turned up in Tawau where she is contesting the Tawau parliament seat in addition to defending the Api Api state seat.

He was accompanied by DAP’s Jimmy Wong who is returning to contest his old State seat of Sri Tanjung.

Old allies turned foes – Karim Bujang – Warisan and Anifah Aman – Umno-BN lock horns for the Kimanis parliament seat.

Karim Bujang from Parti Warisan Sabah, a former Umno strongman, will be hoping to unseat Anifah Aman, the caretaker Foreign Minister of Barisan in a three cornered fight with Jaffar Ismail of Parti Harapan Rakayat Sabah.


Chan Foong Hin, DAP’s Sabah secretary will be hoping to defend the party’s stronghold of Kota Kinabalu, last held by Jimmy, who has moved to the state seat of Sri Tanjung in Tawau, is challenged by his former comrade in DAP, Dr Joseph Lee who is Barisan’s Parti Bersatu Sabah choice in a three corner fight.

Yong Teck Lee, the former chief minister and Sabah Progressive Party president trying to make a political comeback, is the third contender.

In Kota Belud, Mohd Salleh Said, the caretaker Multimedia and Communications minister, is in a six corner fight that involves his second cousin Isnaraissah Munirah Majlis @ Fakharudy of Warisan, Miasin @ Aimaduddin Mion (Harapan Rakyat), Laiman Ikin (PAS), Sungkia Mesuling (PKS) and Daibi Mandadi from Anaka Negeri.


In Sepanggar, Warisan Sabah’s youth (Wira) chief Mohd Azis Jamman will take on Rahman Dahlan, the BN heavyweight who left Kota Belud to make way for Salleh in a four-cornered fight.

Other hopefuls are Gabungan Sabah’s Jefery Kumin and Robert Sopining of PCS.

Pairin Kitingan, Sairin Karno, walking towards the Nomination centre in Keningau. Pairin has been the incumbent for Tambunan since 1976.

In Tambunan, the longest serving State lawmaker, Joseph Pairin Kitingan, who held the seat since 1976, is hoping for a last hurrah, although he will not be defending the Parliament seat of Keningau this time.

Challenging Pairin, the PBS chief, is his younger brother, Jeffrey the STAR Sabah chief, his brother in law, Justin Alip who is on a Warisan Sabah ticket and PCS’ Nestor Joannes.

Darell Leiking, right, with Mandela in Penampang.

In Penampang, Darell Leiking the incumbent and Warisan Sabah deputy president, faces Mandela Clarence Bongkos, though details were not available.

In Labuan, incumbent Rozman Isli (BN-Umno) is in a four cornered fight with Siti Zaleha Ibrahim from Harapan Rakyat, Noor Halim Zaini from Warisan Sabah and Ustaz Junid from PAS.