DAP Stampin Lawmaker Chong Chieng Jen Part Of MA63 Committee


PUTRAJAYA, (19 DECEMBER 2018) – De Facto Law Minister Datuk Liew Vui Keong has confirmed the appointment of Deputy Minister Of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs cum Stampin MP Chong Chieng Jen as one of the members of the Special Cabinet Committee for the implementation of Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

He said this when contacted by the media here, Wednesday.

Earlier on Monday, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had chaired the first meeting of the MA63 steering committee on the rights of Sabah and Sarawak.

Liew also announced the approval of motion for the appointment of other additional members from Sabah and Sarawak as members of the Committee (Steering Committee level) namely Sabah Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau, Sarawak Speaker Datuk Gerawat Gala, Sarawak’s assistant minister of law, state-federal relations and project monitoring Sharifah Hasidah Sayed Aman and Sabah’s former state attorney-general Datuk Stephen Foo Kiat Shin.


He went on saying that amongst the issues that have been deliberated, the most important is the amendment of Article 1(2) of the Federal Constitution which requires a two third majority from the Parliament.

“To get a two third majority, we need 148 seats out of the 222 seats in Parliament. This is within reach as the composition in the lower House has dramatically changed over the last few days with the crossover of MPs from the Opposition to the Government, or at least some of them have expressly said that ‘they are friendly to the Pakatan Harapan led government’.”

“As of Dec 17, the composition of the lower House (Dewan Rakyat) is that there are a total of 129 Pakatan Harapan MPs with 16 from PPBM, 42 from DAP, 50 from PKR, 11 from Amanah, 9 from Warisan and 1 from UPKO,” he said.

Currently, the Opposition has 57 MPs with 37 from UMNO, 1 from MIC, 2 from MCA and 18 from PAS.

Meanwhile, GPS in Sarawak has 19 with 3 from PRS, 1 from SUPP, 2 from PDP, and 13 from PBB whereas PBS, PBRS and Star in Sabah has 1 each.

There are a total of 13 Independent MPs at the moment, he added.

“As for the Senate (Dewan Negara) there are now 69 Senators out of the total 70 with the admission of 1 Senator today from the Negeri Sembilan State Legislative Assembly.”

“Of this, Pakatan Harapan has 18, BN has 26, PAS has 4, while Warisan, UPKO, PBS, Hindraf, IPP, SPDP, and LDP has 1 each,” he said, adding that Gerakan, PBB and the Independents have 2 each whereas the disabled, Siam Community and native people has 1 Senator each.

“I am confident that both the MPs and Senators will fully support the constitutional amendments on Article 1(2) of the Federal Constitution to return the equal status of Sabah and Sarawak to that of the Federation of Malaya,” said Liew.

Towards this end, he said this is a tremendous and positive change to the country and he strongly believed that Malaysia will progress further with these changes.

“Let’s start with this constitutional amendment on Article 1(2) first and with this the rest will fall into line,” he said.