DAP, Amanah Make Way For Muda In 6 Seats In Johor Polls

Party chiefs Lim Guan Eng, Mohamad Sabu and Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman say they want to avoid a clash between the three parties.

PETALING JAYA: DAP and Amanah have decided to allow Muda to contest in six seats in the upcoming Johor state elections, though the new party’s negotiations with PKR are still ongoing.

In a joint statement DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu and Muda president Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, said they wanted to ensure there were no clashes between the three parties.

The six seats Muda will contest in are Puteri Wangsa, Tenang, Bukit Kepong, Parit Raja, Machap and Bukit Permai.

The Machap and Bukit Permai seats were given by DAP, while Amanah made way for Muda in the other four constituencies. DAP will contest in all 14 seats that it had won in the last general election (GE14).

Bersatu won Puteri Wangsa, Tenang, Bukit Kepong and Bukit Permai in GE14 before it quit Pakatan Harapan (PH) in 2020, while Barisan Nasional (BN) won the Machap and Parit Raja seats.

“This means that in facing the Johor state elections, Amanah, DAP and Muda will move as strategic election partners, though Muda is not a part of PH.

“This is in line with the ‘big tent’ concept of uniting all political parties and gathering our strengths in taking on the BN/Perikatan Nasional (PN) government,” they said.

They said the three parties’ machinery will be focusing its efforts on ensuring their candidates win their seats, in order for the opposition bloc to form the next Johor state government.

Johor will go to the polls on March 12, with early voting set for March 8 and nomination day slated for Feb 26.

Some 2,597,742 voters will be eligible to cast their ballots in this state election, which will see three major coalitions vying to form the next Johor state government, namely BN, PN and PH. – FMT