COVID-19: Seven districts in Sarawak are red zones – Uggah

KUCHING: The Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee (JPBN) announces that seven districts in the state are COVID-19 red zones (hotspots), today.

Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, who is also the committee’s chairman, said the city of Kuching had the most hotspots with 69 areas.

“This is followed by Samarahan with 16 areas, Miri (nine), Betong (six), Limbang (six) and Bintulu (five),” he told a press conference on the development of COVID-19 at Wisma Bapa Malaysia here, today.

Uggah said six districts were listed as yellow zones, namely, Serian (three), Sibu (three) while Mukah, Matu, Lawas and Simunjan had one area each.

He said the state government has decided that offshore oil and gas employees, including from outside Sarawak, must undergo a 14-day quarantine in the state before going to the oil rigs.

“In addition, the committee is also not allowing movements between districts and exemptions are only given to emergency cases with approval from the respective district offices,” he said.

Meanwhile, Uggah said Sarawak recorded 11 new positive COVID-19 cases today, boosting the total number of cases in the state to 129 cases, since the first case on March 13, 2020.

“These 11 new cases are being treated at the Sarawak General Hospital, comprising six men and five women,” he added.