All Remaining Classes To Resume July 15 And 22


KOTA KINABALU: School will reopen in stages for the remaining students beginning July 15.

Students in Forms One to Four, those in Primary Five and Six, Remove Class students and Form Six Semester 1 students will go back to school on July 15.

“Primary One to Four pupils will return on July 22,” said Education Minister Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin in a live telecast today.

Students in public examination classes, namely Forms Five and Six, returned to school on June 24 following a three-month suspension of school in light of the movement control order in March.

During the live telecast today, Mohd Radzi said that because the SPM 2020 examinations will be held in the first week of 2021, the ministry is taking into account the need to reorganise various aspects of logistics for the examinations.

“This includes specifying dates for next year’s school session to ensure it goes well.

“This will be finalised in the 2021 academic calendar.”

Radzi also explained that schools would be submitting their proposal on which of the three models of operation they wish to use.

“We will then decide and the model for each school will be made known a week before the schools reopen,” he said.

Model 1 recommends schools to conduct lessons within one session.

This option is for schools that are able to accommodate all their students and schools that choose this model will operate as usual, he said.

Model 2 recommends a dual session for schools that aren’t able to accommodate all their students in one session, while Model 3 recommends a rotational mode.

Model 3, he said, should be the last option if schools tried but failed to operate under Model 2.