‘Advent Of A Reformed PBS’, Ongkili Describes His New Exco Line-Up

Ongkili chairing the Supreme Council Meeting at the PBS Headquarters in Donggongon, Penampang, marking his first task after helming the presidency post.

PENAMPANG: The new line-up of Parti Bersatu Sabah has been described by its President Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili as ‘politically solid and formidable’.

“The line-up is the advent of reformed PBS. We have a good mix, a blend of proven veterans and about 40 per cent new faces, mainly young people, who are equally talented and capable leaders.

“This combination, which has shown promising leadership talent and contribution, will be able to inject new ideas and help PBS reach greater heights,” said Ongkili when chairing the party’s Supreme Council meeting at its headquarters, here.

This is his first task after taking the leadership helm from outgoing President of 33 years, Tan Sri Joseph Pairin Kitingan, during the party’s annual delegates congress a couple of weeks ago. He was promoted as the party’s Premier Advisor.

The three deputy presidents are Radin Malleh, Dr Yee Moh Chai and Senator Jamilah Sulaiman; while Tandek Assemblywoman Anita Baranting and Christopher Mandut were elected as the party’s Women and Youth chiefs, respectively.

Tamparuli Assemblyman Jahid Jahim has been appointed as the party’s Secretary General and to be assisted by Matunggong Assemblywoman, Julita Majungki, while Lu Kim Yen (Treasurer General) and John Chryso Masabal as his assistant.

Kiulu Assemblyman Joniston Bangkuai is PBS Information Chief, while the Vice Presidents for the Blue Quota (Bumiputera) are Kundasang Assemblyman Dr Joachim Gunsalam, Daniel Kinsik and Johnny Mositun (appointed); Yellow Quota (Muslim Bumiputera) – Almudin Kaida, Ruslan Muharam and Labuk Assemblyman Abdul Rahman Kongkawan (appointed); Red Quota (Chinese) – Peter Mak, Linda Tsen and Dr Joseph Lee (appointed).

The Supreme Council members are William Majimbun, Louis Rampas, Fredoline Totin, Suman Yasambun, Stanis Buandi, Samson Gapid, Peter Allion, Demis Rumanti (appointed) and Awang Gariman (appointed) for the Blue Quota; Lin Harun, Francis Lawrence Yusof, Omar Hakim, Mohd Dinn Jamiran, Mursid Mohd Rais, Balbir Arjan (appointed) for the Yellow Quota; and Goon Thien, Kong Nyuk Tau, Johnny Goh, Ng Tze Tsai, Edward Yong Oui Fah (appointed) and Lim Vun Chan (appointed) for the Red Quota.

PBS also set up a Council of Eminent Leaders, which will function the party’s advisory council to generate proposals and programmes towards the betterment of the party, to be headed by Pairin.

Ongkili said the new line-up will be sworn in on Dec 7, adding that several appointments to fill vacant posts will be made in due course.