ADUNs Ditch Musa Aman; Shafie Apdal Bides His Time To Be Sworn In As CM

Shafie Apdal with Christina Liew and Stephen Wong and Madius Tangau at the press conference at his residence in Kota Kinabalu on Friday evening.

KOTA KINABALU: Shafie Apdal of Parti Warisan Sabah now has 34 State Assemblymen who support him as the Chief Minister.

As such, Musa Aman must step down. He simply does not have enough elected representatives to back him.

Word on the ground is that several more Assemblymen want to ditch the Barisan Nasional to join the Warisan ‘ship’.

At a press conference at his Golf View residence at 6.30pm Friday, Shafie admitted more BN assemblymen want to join him, and he said they can come, but without inducement.


Shafie, who spent several hours at the Istana after Friday prayers, said he had informed the Yang Di-Pertua Negri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin that he had sufficient Assemblymen and by right, should be sworn as Chief Minister.

“I am not forcing Tun Juhar to swear me in. But I have the numbers and the law is very clear, but I will leave it to the Istana to do what is right and necessary,” Shafie told a packed press conference with three Umno and two Upko Assemblymen as well as his 28 own members in attendance.

Those who joined Shafie at his residence included Ewon Benedick (Kadamaian-Upko), Abidin Madingkir (Paginatan-Upko), Hamisa Samat (Tanjung Batu-Umno), Muis Picho (Sebatik-Umno) and Jamawi Jaffar (Kemabong-Umno).

The three Umno Assemblymen will join Parti Warisan. The two Upko Assemblymen will remain with their party.

Others who have confirmed joining Parti Warisan is Osman Jamal (Balung-Umno). He was not present.

Two more Upko Assemblymen, Limus Jury and Bobbey Suan are said to have sent messages that they would be coming on board soon.

It is also understood that two more Umno representatives – Bolkiah Ismail (Pitas) and Nizam Abu Bakar (Apas) have contacted Warisan leaders indicating they too wanted to ditch Umno.

From Parti Bersatu Sabah, Jahid Jahim (Tamparuli) and Joniston Bangkuai (Kiulu) have similarly expressed their desire to move, having contacted Warisan leaders on Friday.

However the swearing in of Shafie as the next Chief Minister is currently on hold and will made known soon.


Shafie Apdal Will Be Next Chief Minister; Musa’s Govt Will Fall