Abu Sayyaf Still Active, So Curfew For 7 Districts in ESSZone Extended

Ramli Din 

KOTA KINABALU – The curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) which ends Thursday, will be extended until March 3.

Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Ramli Din in a statement here, said those staying in the areas should be indoors between 6pm and 6am.

He said the waters affected by the curfew encompassed the districts of Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

“The curfew is extended to ensure the waters off Sabah are not intruded by terrorists who can threaten the security of international researchers conducting researches and foreign tourists at resort islands,” Bernama reported him saying.

According to Ramli, the Abu Sayyaf militant group and other groups from southern Philippines which carried out kidnappings for ransom were still attempting to intrude to commit other cross-border crimes.

He said the curfew was extended to ensure the safety of the Sabah people who used the territorial waters and those staying in the coastal areas of the ESSZone.

“I have also authorised all district police chiefs in ESSZone to issue permits to applicants who meet the conditions for fishing or urgent travel in the curfew areas,” he added.