73 seats up for grabs in Sabah polls

Gambar Internet.

KOTA KINABALU: A total of 73 seats will be contested in the upcoming Sabah election, up from 60 previously, the Election Commission (EC) said today.

“Seventy-three seats will be contested,” Sabah EC director Rohiman Rahia told Bernama.

On Thursday, Chief Minister Shafie Apdal announced the dissolution of the state assembly, paving the way for a state election to be held within 60 days.

In July last year, the Dewan Rakyat approved a bill to increase the number of seats in the Sabah assembly from 60 to 73.

The 13 news seats are N02 Bengkoka; N06 Bandau; N08 Pintasan; N13 Pantai Dalit; N17 Darau; N24 Tanjung Keramat; N27 Limbahau; N44 Tulid; N47 Telupid; N51 Sungai Manila; N58 Lamag; N61 Segama and N70 Kukusan.

The bill was supported by all 158 MPs, including representatives from Sabah.