3,170 New COVID-19 Cases, 16 More Clusters Detected Today

PUTRAJAYA: A total of 16 new clusters, including 11 involving workplaces, and 3,170 new COVID-19 cases were recorded today, said Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah.

He said the workplace clusters involved the Jalan Terolak Cluster and Wholesale Market Cluster in Kuala Lumpur; Seri Bayu Cluster, Tampoi Tujuh Cluster and Jalan Sempadan Cluster in Johor; Kota Muhibbah Cluster and Jalan Slim Cluster in Perak; Silimpopon Cluster and Ladang Sebrang Cluster in Sabah; Orion Cluster in Kedah; and Jalan Canang Emas Cluster in Selangor. 

“The other clusters involved religious activities (Taman Sejahtera Cluster, Perak); risk groups (Mandin Jaya Cluster, Penang and Jalan Kelapa Cluster, Selangor); and community transmissions (Kampung Tanah Merah Cluster, Terengganu and Gunung Raya Cluster, Kedah),” he said.

Speaking at today’s press conference on daily COVID-19 development at the Ministry of Health (MOH), he said the detection of these new clusters took the total tally to 701, of which 327 clusters are still active.